The Robin Hopper Collection

Robin Hopper is the author of three of the most highly acclaimed books for the studio potter: The Ceramic Spectrum, Functional Pottery and Making Marks. These three comprehensive books form the core of any ceramic art library because...(Scroll for more.)



You save $50.00 (34%)!

Available as books only!

…they exhaustively cover three critical areas for the ceramic artist or potter: color development, design and surfaces.

The Ceramic Spectrum, Functional Pottery & Making Marks

Note: Due to weight, international shipping is $56.20. Call for details.

The Ceramic SpectrumDownload an Excerpt

A Simplified Approach to Glaze & Color Development

The accepted standard for understanding glazes, this book explores glaze and color making in a hands-on way that follows the empirical understanding used for thousands of years. Hopper provides an impressive description of his extensive research into glaze, color, texture, and surface enrichment. It is the perfect practical complement to any glaze theory or process of calculation, including glaze calculation software programs.

Read more about The Ceramic Spectrum.

Functional PotteryDownload an Excerpt

Form and Aesthetic in Pots of Purpose

Functional Pottery has been used by potters around the world and in a great many colleges and universities as required reading. It’s a book of personal development in the design, making, and aesthetics of ceramics objects for use, based on more than 40 years of practical experience. Not only is this book the most informative written on the subject of functional pottery and its design and aesthetic, but the illustrations of both historical and contemporary objects put the equivalent of a museum and art gallery at your fingertips. Full of information and practical tips, it‘s an invaluable reference that should be in every potter’s studio.

Read more about Functional Pottery.

Making MarksDownload an Excerpt 

Discovering the Ceramic Surface

Making Marks is about ceramic surface enrichment, the processes used for achieving it, and the thought concepts, idea development and personal research behind it. Regardless of your level of expertise in working with clay, the surface provides endless possibilities, and this book will inevitably open many doors. The text of the book is organized into five parts: Fundamentals, Plastic and Liquid Clay Processes, Pigment Processes, Glaze Processes, and Firing and Post-firing Processes.

Read more about Making Marks.

Enter Your Log In Credentials
This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

Larger version of the image