Topic: Articles

Exposure: January 2018

Bottoms Up!

at Santa Fe Clay (www.santafeclay.com) in Santa Fe, New Mexico, through January 13.

1 Pete Scherzer’s mug, ceramics.

2 Brett Freund’s Gem Cup, 4 in. (10 cm) in height, porcelain, 2017.

3 William Brouillard’s Deco Cup and Saucer, ceramic.

4 Jessica Brandl’s Yunomi #2, 4 in. (10 cm) in height, wheel-thrown and 3D-printed red earthenware.

5 Jim Koudelka’s Carnival Mugs, to 4 in. (10 cm) in height, salt-fired porcelain, 2017.

Exuberant Earth: Ceramics by Ruth Rippon

at Crocker Art Museum (www.crockerart.org) in Sacramento, California, through February 4.

1 Ruth Rippon’s bottle, 55⁄8 in. (14 cm) in height, porcelain, 1979. Hubert A. Arnold Collection.

2 Ruth Rippon’s Women at the Bath, 16½ in. (42 cm) in height, stoneware, 1974. Collection of Anne and Malcolm McHenry.

3 Ruth Rippon’s Sofia, 18½ in. (47 cm) in height, stoneware, 1959.

Celebrating 35 years

at The Craft Centre and Design Gallery Leeds (www.craftcentreleeds.co.uk) in Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK, through January 6.

1 Jack Doherty’s Carved Vessel, Newlyn Series, 9 in. (23 cm) in height, porcelain, soda fired to cone 7, 2016. Photo: Rebecca Peters.

2 Christine Cummings’ Fox on Hill, handbuilt earthenware, slips, underglazes, oxides.

3 Gin Durham’s Puffin, 10 in. (26 cm) in height, stoneware, fired to cone 6, 2017.

4 Duncan Ross’ vessel, 8 in. (20 cm) in height, terra sigillata, carbonized firing, 2017.

5 Karen McPhail’s lidded jar, 8 in. (20 cm) in height, earthenware, slip decorated, fired to 1976°F (1080°C), hand-turned oak lid.

6 Sophie Southgate’s Landscape Color Vessels, to 5 in. (13 cm) in diameter, earthenware, porcelain, slip cast, fired to 2102°F (1150°C), 2016.

Gerit Grimm’s Fairytales: In a Time Neither Now Nor Then

at Museum of Wisconsin Art (http://wisconsinart.com) in West Bend, Wisconsin, through January 14.

1,2 Gerit Grimm’s Village Tree, 4 ft. 7 in. (1.4 m) in height, stoneware, 2011.


Steven Heinemann: Culture and Nature

at the Gardiner Museum (www.gardinermuseum.com) in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, through January 21.

1 Steven Heinemann’s Husk, 29 in. (74 cm) in length, cast and pressed earthenware, 1996. Photo: Taimaz Moslemian.

All That Glitters: The Work of William Ehrlich and Clément Massier

at Jason Jacques Gallery (www.jasonjacques.com) in New York, New York, through January 13.

1 Clément Massier’s The Rite of Spring, 14½ in. (37 cm) in height, glazed earthenware, c. 1900.

Tarnanthi at the Gallery

at Art Gallery of South Australia (www.artgallery.sa.gov.au/agsa/home) in Adelaide, Australia, through January 28.

1 Pepai Jangala Carroll’s Yumari, 17 in. (44 cm) in height, stoneware, slip, underglaze, 2017. Photo: Rhett Hammerton.

Craft Forms 2017

at Wayne Art Center (www.wayneart.org) in Wayne, Pennsylvania, through January 27.

1 Ovidio Giberga’s Run Rabbit Run, 25 in. (64 cm) in height, clay, 2017.

2 Brian Kakas’ Architectonics: Hull Improv, 35 in. (89 cm) in length, clay, 2015.

3 Stanton Hunter’s Intimate Corners 2, 7 in. (18 cm) in height, clay, 2016.

The Persistence of the Residuum

at Eutectic Gallery (www.eutecticgallery.com) in Portland, Oregon, through January 27.

1 Richard James’ Albert VI, 4 ft. 6 in. (1.4 m) in height, earthenware, found objects, wool, wood, concrete, objects from Gatlinburg fire, 2017.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Enter Your Log In Credentials
This setting should only be used on your home or work computer.

Larger version of the image

Send this to a friend